Note: The fees listed in this Catalog are those in effect at the time of publication. Fees are subject to change at any time by action of the State Legislature, Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges, or District Board of Trustees. To view a current listing of fees, visit the Fees website.
The Colleges of the District allow auditing of courses with the exception of courses in programs that require special presentation and/or program admissions on a limited basis. See the Audit Policy webpage.
An auditing fee as established by California Education Code is payable at the time of enrollment as an auditor. The fee is $15 per unit. If the course is a variable unit class, the student must enroll for the maximum number of units available. Students enrolled in ten (10) or more semester units for credit can audit up to three additional units free of charge.
A State-mandated enrollment fee of $46 per unit is payable at the time of registration.
The Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges has established a grant program to help low income students pay the enrollment fee. Information on eligibility requirements and application deadlines, as well as application forms, are available in the Financial Aid Office.
In addition to other costs, students classified as non-residents of the state of California must pay a tuition fee and Capital Outlay fee. See details under Non-Resident Tuition Fee.
Health Services Fee
Note: The San Mateo County Community College Board of Trustees has temporarily suspended Board Policy 8.74, section 2c, for Spring term 2021 through May 2021. Students enrolled in online classes during the Spring 2021 semester will be charged Health Services Fee.
All students, except concurrently enrolled high school students enrolled in less than 12 units or those registering only for off-campus classes or weekend classes, are required to pay a $21 health services fee each fall and spring semester at the time of registration for day or evening classes. For the summer session, the health services fee is $18. In addition to campus health services, the fee provides accident insurance coverage which is in effect when the student is on campus or attending a College-sponsored event.
Students who depend exclusively upon prayer for healing in accordance with the teachings of a bona fide religious sect, denomination, or organization may be exempted from paying the health services fee. A petition for health services fee exemption can be obtained from Health Services, Building 1, Room 147 (574-6396).
Inclusive Digital Access Fee
The Inclusive Access - Digital Texbooks program is a textbook model created in collaboration with top publishers and the College of San Mateo Bookstore that converts books into dynamic digital content that lowers the cost of course materials for all students in the course. The fee varies by course. The digital content also includes interactive learning platforms, interactive abilities with CANVAS and other benefits:
- Automatically billed to your WebSMART account at the beginning of the semester for enrolled students
- Discounted access for digital content
- Discounted print book upgrade (if available) at the bookstore.
To opt out and not participate in the program for courses that are part of the Inclusive Access program, please visit the College of San Mateo Bookstore website, click on Inclusive Access, and follow the instructions on that page.
Student Representation Fee
A representation fee of $2 per student per semester was established by an election of the student body at College of San Mateo. Under applicable provisions of the Education Code, the students established the representation fee by a two-thirds majority of students who voted in the election.
Of the $2 fee, $1 stays with the local Associated Students to be expended to provide support for students or their representatives who may be stating their positions and viewpoints before city, county, and district government and before offices and agencies of the local, State and Federal government. The remaining $1 goes to the Student Senate for California Community Colleges (SSCCC) to support the group’s advocacy and representation activities.
A student has the right to refuse to pay the student representation fee for religious, political, moral or financial reasons. This refusal must be submitted in writing to the Center for Student Life & Leadership Development. The fee is not covered by financial aid.
All persons driving motor vehicles onto campus and utilizing the parking facilities during regular class hours, including final examinations, are required to pay a parking fee. Parking permits are not required for students enrolling in telecourses, off-campus or weekend classes. Student parking permits for motor vehicles (except motorcycles) are available for $58 each for the fall and spring semesters or $106 for a two-term (fall/spring) permit, and $27 for the summer session. Parking permits for students with California College Promise Grant (CCPG) waivers are $30 for the fall and spring or $60 for a two-term (fall/spring) permit, and $25 for summer. If a semester length parking permits is lost or stolen, replacements are available at full price. Students may purchase parking permits only online using WebSMART. Permits may be ordered and paid for online and mailed to the student’s residence.
Students may also order a permit online from computers located on the third floor of Building 10 (Admissions and Records Office and Cashiers Office) and then pay for the permit and pick it up at the Cashiers' counter. Parking is on a first-come, first-served basis. A permit is not a guarantee of a parking space.
Student Body Fee
Note: Students who register for the Spring 2021 term will not be charged the Student Body Fee.
The optional student body fee is $15 per semester and is assessed at the time of registration. This entitles the student to a photo ID student body card, which can be obtained at the Center for Student Life & Leadership Development during regular office hours. This photo identification card entitles students to special discount of 10% to 40% at participating local businesses, movie theaters, shops and restaurants. On-campus discounts are available at the Cosmetology salon, CSM Bookstore (non-book items), and all athletic events. Funds collected from the student body fee help support numerous programs and services on campus including scholarships, emergency student loans, child care, athletics, guest speakers and concerts.
Non-Resident Tuition Fee
No tuition is charged to legal residents of California. In 2020-21, students who have not been residents of California (as defined in the Education Code) for one year or longer prior to the beginning of a term are required to pay a non-resident tuition fee of $273 per unit ($273 per unit for foreign students) and Capital Outlay fee of $8 per unit at the time of registration in addition to the $46 per unit enrollment fee. Residency status is determined by the Office of Admissions and Records.
In general, an unmarried minor (a person under 18 years of age) derives legal residence from his/her father (or his/her mother if the father is deceased), or, if the case of permanent separation of the parents, from the parent with whom the minor maintains his/ her abode. The residence of a minor cannot be changed by an act of the minor or an act of the minor’s guardian while the minor’s parents are living.
An adult must take steps to establish legal residency in California at least one year prior to the beginning of the term in order to be classified as a resident student for that term. Information concerning acceptable documentation of intent to establish and maintain California residency is available in the Office of Admissions and Records.
Students must purchase their own textbooks and supplies. A considerable saving is possible through the purchase of used texts from the on-campus College of San Mateo Bookstore. The San Mateo County Community College District offers a textbook rental program to assist students with textbook costs. Special equipment is needed for certain programs such as Electronics, Drafting, Nursing, Cosmetology, Engineering, Art and Architecture, involving an additional initial outlay ranging from $100 to $600. Please refer to course descriptions for special costs.
Non-Payment of Fees
San Mateo County Community College District policy requires students to pay all fees at the time of enrollment. The policy states that students will be dropped from classes for non-payment of fees. Upon registering for classes, all payment deadline information will be sent immediately to the student’s my.smccd.edu email account. For more important information, visit the Fees webpage. If students are unable to pay their fees, they are encouraged to enroll in an inexpensive payment plan via WebSMART, apply for financial aid (www.fafsa.gov) at least five days prior to registering for your classes, or complete the Board of Governors Fee Waiver via WebSMART to prevent being dropped from classes. If students need financial assistance after exhausting all options listed above, they may contact the Vice President of Student Services at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Students who have unpaid fees on their record will not receive grade reports or other records of their work, and will be denied registration unless all outstanding fees have been paid.
CSM accepts cash, check, credit card and debit cards. Third-party payments are not accepted. Checks are to be made payable to College of San Mateo.
* A listing of additional fees can be found on the CSM Fees Website.
COVID-19 Grading and Refund Information
Students: For all Covid-19 Refundable Drop and Withdrawal dates, please refer to your WebSmart under Class Schedule Summary. The following outlines what these dates include in terms of fee refunds and grading:
Last Refund: Drop with a full refund including material, health services fees.
Withdrawal/End Date: Refund Enrollment Fee and Non-Resident tuition through the last scheduled class day prior to exam week.
After the last scheduled class day, only the enrollment fee will be refunded EXCEPT for NonResident and International.
Section Refund Date: Drop with a full refund including material, health services fees.
Last Day to Drop with a Section Refund: Refund of Enrollment Fee and Non-Resident Tuition only. Material, health, and other fees will be refunded.
Last Day to Drop Without Appearing on Transcript: Refund of Enrollment Fee and Non-Resident Tuition only. Material, health, and other fees will not be refunded.
Last Day to Chance to Pass/No Pass Grading Option: No fee refund applies – see counselor before considering.
Last Day to Withdrawal with an EW: Refund Enrollment Fee and Non-Resident tuition through the last scheduled class day prior to exam week.
After the last scheduled class day, only the enrollment fee, Non-Resident and International will refund. The Non-Resident and International student tuition will stop refunding one month after the term end date.
Faculty: For all Covid-19 Refundable Drop and Withdrawal dates, please refer to your WebSmart under Class List of Registered and Waitlisted Students. The following outlines what these dates include in terms of fee refunds and grading:
Refund Date: Drop with a full refund including material, health services fees.
Last Withdrawal Date: Refund Enrollment Fee and Non-Resident tuition through thelast scheduled class day prior to exam week. The Non-Resident and International student tuition will stop refunding one month after the term end date.
End Date: After the last scheduled class day, only the enrollment fee, Non-Resident and International will refund. The Non-Resident and International student tuition will stop refunding one month after the term end date.